Name: SISTER CITIES COMMITTEE

Type: Committee

Description:

**PURPOSE:** Pursuant to s. 320-47 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances, the Sister Cities Committee is created to assist the city with the establishment and maintenance of sister city relationships pursuant to Sister Cities International regulations.

**COMPOSITION** Five members: the chair of the Community and Economic Development Committee who serves as chair of the committee; a representative of the Mayor's office; a representative of the International Institute of Wisconsin appointed by the Common Council President; a public member appointed by the Common Council President; and the Commissioner of Health or his or her designee. Appointed members serve two-year terms Appointments to this body do not require Common Council confirmation.

A member who is not an elected official continues to serve after the completion of his or her term until reappointed or until a successor has been appointed.

Due to the nature of the business conducted by this body, members are required to file a Statement of Economic Interests with the Board of Ethics.

**CREATING AUTHORITY:** Section 320-47 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances.

**SALARY:** \$20 per meeting

**STAFFING:** Office of the Common Council-City Clerk; Mr. Chris Lee, 286-2232, clee@milwaukee.gov

**WEBSITE:**SISTER CITIES COMMITTEE

**LAST UPDATED:** November 11, 2021

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
Aaron Szopinski	Designee	5/18/2023	5/18/2025	
Appointed By: Michael Totoraitis				
Adamaris Penaloza	Member	12/19/2023	12/19/2025	*
Appointed By: Mayor Cavalier Johnson				
Al Durtka	Member	10/18/2023	10/18/2025	*
Appointed By: ALD. PEREZ				
Colleen Cheney-Trawinski	Member	9/26/2023	9/26/2025	*
Appointed By: ALD. PEREZ				